First steps: The 5x5 LED matrix

First steps: The 5x5 LED matrix

Learn about the 5x5 LED matrix

Easy

ab 15 min

from 8 years on

For this exercise we will be using the editor from Open Roberta. Be careful to ensure that the following image is visible at the top right of your programming environment. You can find the editor on our website. Just click on ‘Let’s Start’ and then ‘Editor’ from the main tool bar.

Amongst other things, the Calliope mini comes with 25 red LEDs that can be turned on and off individually. If, for example, you wanted to display your name, you could program individual LEDs to light up in sequence so as to display the letters of your name one after the other. As this would be rather complex, you can also enter the character string into a text field and the Calliope Mini will light up the necessary LEDs in the correct order for you.

1DISPLAYING A CHARACTER STRING

To show your chosen sting of characters on the LED matrix, select the show text block from the Action menu. Next, drag and attach this block to the Start block in the main screen. The text contained within the inverted commas will now be displayed on the Calliope mini when the program is started.

2DISPLAYING NUMBERS*

If you’d prefer to show a number instead of text, replace the green text block in the main screen with the blue number block from the Math menu.

3DISPLAYING IMAGES

To display a heart, a smiley or even a duck on your Calliope mini, Choose the show image block from the Action menu and select any number of different images by simply clicking on the lilac-coloured block.

You can also create your very own images:
Just select this block from the Action menu and click in the boxes to create your very own image.

TIP: If you want to see a number of different images appear one after the other on your Calliope mini, you will need to add a pause between each image. The length of the pause corresponds to the amount of time that the image is to be displayed.

4ADDING PAUSES

If you were not to add any pause between 2 images, then the Calliope mini would display the first image for 0 seconds (ie: not at all). The wait ms block can be found in the Control menu.

Here you can download the corresponding file

This file can be opened and edited directly in NEPO

xml

In dieser Übung nutzen wir den Editor von Open Roberta. Stelle sicher, dass in deiner Programmierumgebung oben rechts dieses Bild zu sehen ist. Den Editor findest du auf unserer Website oben in der Navigation unter: Los geht's - Editor.

Erste Schritte:
Das 5x5 LED Raster

Der Calliope mini ist unter anderem mit 25 roten LED Leuchten ausgestattet, die unabhängig voneinander an- und ausgeschaltet werden können. Wenn du zum Beispiel deinen Namen anzeigen lassen möchtest, kannst du die einzelnen LED Lämpchen nacheinander so leuchten lassen, dass die Buchstaben deines Namens angezeigt werden. Da das bei langen Namen viel zu aufwendig wird, gibt es die Möglichkeit die gewünschte Zeichenkette in ein Textfeld einzugeben, damit der Calliope mini seine Lämpchen selbst in der richtigen Reihenfolge anschaltet:

1Eine Zeichenkette anzeigen

Um eine beliebige Zeichenkette auf dem LED Raster anzuzeigen, wähle aus dem Menü Aktion den Block Zeige Text und ziehe ihn nach rechts unter den Startblock. Der Text zwischen den Anführungszeichen wird beim Programmstart auf deinem Calliope mini zu sehen sein.

2Eine Zahl anzeigen*

Um nun statt einer Zeichenkette eine Zahl anzuzeigen, wähle zunächst in der Dropdown-Liste Zeichen und ersetze den grünen Textblock mit dem blauen Zahlenblock aus dem Menü Mathematik.

3Ein Bild anzeigen

Um Bilder wie ein Herz, Smileys oder eine Ente auf deinem Calliope mini anzuzeigen, wähle den Block Zeige Bild aus dem Menü Aktion und wähle mit einem Klick auf den lilafarbenen Block aus vielen verschiedenen Motiven.

Du kannst natürlich auch eigene Bilder erschaffen:
Markiere in diesem Block aus dem Menü Aktion die Kästchen, um dein eigenes Bild zu erstellen.

TIPP: Wenn du verschiedene Bilder nacheinander auf deinem Calliope mini sehen willst, musst du Pausen zwischen den Bildern festlegen. Die Länge der Pause entspricht der Anzeigedauer der Bilder.

4Pausen hinzufügen

Wenn du keine Pause zwischen 2 Bildern festlegst, zeigt der Calliope mini das erste Bild null Sekunden lang, also gar nicht. Den Warte ms Block findest du im Menü Kontrolle.