First steps: Output

First steps: Output

Audio, light and motion

Easy

ab 15 min

from 8 years on

In this lesson we’ll be using the editor from Open Roberta. Be careful to ensure that the following image is visible at the top right of your programming environment. You can find the editor on our website. Just click on ‘Let’s Start’ and then ‘Editor’.

As well as the red LED matrix, which we looked at in the first lesson, the Calliope mini also has a built-in loudspeaker that allows you to play different tones and an LED with which you can display a huge variety of different colours.

1The RGB-LED

The large LED under the LED matrix works in exactly the same way as watercolours do. Within this LED there are three smaller LEDs: one red, one green and one blue. When you select a colour in your programming environment, the Calliope mini will automatically display this colour by mixing the three base colours together,

The Turn LED on colour block can be found in the Action menu. With this block you can change the colour you want to display. Simply click on the red square and choose another colour.

To turn the LED off, use the Turn LED off block from the Action menu. Make sure to add a pause between your on and off blocks otherwise the time the LED is lit will be so short you won’t be able to see any colour.

2The speaker

You can find the loudspeaker on the right-hand side of the Calliope mini close to Pin 3.

The play whole note C block can be found the Action menu. By clicking on whole, you can also change the tone’s length as well as its pitch.

In dieser Übung nutzen wir den Editor von Open Roberta. Stelle sicher, dass in deiner Programmierumgebung oben rechts dieses Bild zu sehen ist. Den Editor findest du auf unserer Website oben in der Navigation unter: Los geht's - Editor.

Erste Schritte: Ausgabe

Neben dem roten LED-Raster, welches wir in der ersten Übung kennengelernt haben, hat der Calliope mini auch einen Lautsprecher mit dem du Töne spielen kannst und eine LED die du in unzähligen Farben zum Leuchten bringen kannst:

1Die RGB-LED

Die große LED unterhalb des LED-Rasters funktioniert genau so wie Wasserfarben. Im Gehäuse der LED befinden sich drei kleinere LEDs mit den Farben rot, grün und blau. Wenn du in der Programmierumgebung eine Farbe einstellst, mischt der Calliope mini diese Farbe selbst aus den drei Farben zusammen.

Den Block Schalte LED an Farbe findest du im Menü Aktion. Mit einem Klick auf das rote Viereck kannst du zwischen verschiedenen Farben wählen.

Um die LED wieder auszuschalten, benutze den Schalte LED aus Block aus Aktion. Achte auch hier darauf eine Pause zwischen dem An- und Ausschalten einzubauen, da die LED sonst so kurz leuchtet, dass du es nicht sehen kannst.

2Der Lautsprecher

Der Lautsprecher befindet sich auf der rechten Seite des Calliope mini in der Nähe von Pin 3.

Den Block Spiele ganze Note C findest du im Menü Aktion. Sowohl die Tonlänge als auch die -höhe kannst du verändern. Klicke dazu auf ganze Note bzw. C.